Sunday, April 27, 2014

Disney Popcorn

Did you know that Disney popcorn is vegan and gluten free?  Well, it is, and it's a snack that you can enjoy in every Disney park.  

Yesterday, I had popcorn at Disney's Hollywood Studios.  As we walked down Hollywood Boulevard, I found three popcorn stands to buy it at.  

I had read about Disney popcorn being gluten free and vegan on the Disney Food Blog, but I always double check before ordering anything when I eat out.  The cast member I spoke to got out the allergy binder, and showed me the pages for the popcorn (popcorn oil) and caramel popcorn.  

One of my blog readers had asked about the caramel popcorn at Hollywood Studios on my Facebook page, and I am happy to report that it is gluten free as well.  It contains popcorn, brown sugar, water, corn syrup, baking soda, and vanilla.  

I am not a huge fan of traditional popcorn, but I have always enjoyed Disney popcorn.  It has a nice buttery taste, and is perfectly salted and always tastes fresh.

You can read more about Disney popcorn here on the Disney Food Blog. 

May 4, 2014 Update

I stopped by Big Top Treats in the New Fantasyland at the Magic Kingdom to see if the caramel popcorn was gluten free.  It turns out that ingredient-wise, it does not contain gluten, but it has an allergy warning that says it is manufactured on shared equipment that processes wheat and peanuts.  The cast member I spoke to showed me this page from their allergy binder.  I must admit that I was a little sad, because I was hoping to try it. 

I am happy to report though, that I found caramel corn, chocolate caramel popcorn, cheddar cheese popcorn, chocolate cheddar popcorn, and confetti popcorn at Main Street Confectionery in the Magic Kingdom.  None of them contain gluten or have an allergy warning that they are manufactured on shared equipment with wheat/gluten.

September 16, 2015 Update

The Orlando Sentinel is reporting that Disney World and Disneyland are switching to Pop Secret popcorn.  I checked Pop Secret's website for allergen information.  None of their products contain gluten, and they are packaged in a facility that is free from peanuts and tree nuts.  Pop Secret products also look to be soy free, but some contain dairy.  There is no word on when this change is taking place, so it is a good idea to ask to see an allergy binder before ordering popcorn at Disney.

September 23, 2015 Update

New information from Disney - the new Pop Secret popcorn at Disney will contain corn, coconut, canola blend oil (produced in a facility that produces peanut oil), and salt.


  1. Wow that is awesome! I just assumed there was butter on it so I didn't get it last time I was there. Thanks!!